HUMANIST AND SECULARIST LIBERAL DEMOCRATS Minutes of Annual General Meeting held On Line on Tuesday, 8 November 2022 at 7 pm

Present: Toby Keynes, Susan Vincent, David Barnsdale, Clare Delderfield, Paul Roberts, Philip Thompson, Richard Church, Ian Elliott, Kay Kirkham, Philippa Slatter, Martin Eggleston, Jacquie Gammon, Werner Wiethege, Mhairi Helme, Peter Barnett, Sharon Hartley, Vera Head, Alison Jenner, Jenny Wilkinson, Zoe Hollowood, Gillian Pearson, Sam Weatherlake, Daniel Duggan, Nigel Scott, Mary Wallbank, Jon Ball, Juliet Line, Rachel Baker

1 **Apologies for absence:** Rachel Dinnery, Christine Jardine, Lorely Burt, Christine Seymout, Wendy Taylor, Julian Huppert

2 Minutes of the 2022 AGM (circulated with this notice)

These were unanimously agreed as a true record.

3 Reports from executive committee:

- (a) Chair The Chair (Toby Keynes) reported that he was standing down from the committee after being Chair for 9 of the past 12 years. He thanked Kay Kirkham for her work as Treasurer and for her skills in dealing with the banks and producing the accounts. He thanked Sue Vincent for taking over as Secretary and Vera Head for her service as Vice Chair. He reported that HSLD was one of the first party organisation to transition from AO status to the new status of Affiliated Organisation. We have been working with MPs and Peers over various bills, including an Assisted Dying bill and a bill on school assemblies. We also make sure that motions put to party conference have appropriate amendments to cater for our concerns when necessary.
- **(b) Treasurer:** The Treasurer (Kay Kirkham) reported that she took over as Treasurer in 2021. She has been working on closing the old HSBC account and transferring everything to the Santander, including getting all the standing orders transferred to the new account.
- **(c) Secretary:** The Secretary (Sue Vincent) reported that she has been taking minutes and arranging committee meetings and she can now access the HSLD email account.
- (d) Membership Secretary: The Membership Secretary (Sharon Hartley) reported that the Chair had been working on getting the standing orders moved to the new account. Ther has been some loss of membership due to people leaving the party or being unable to afford membership and lack of face-to-face conferences to recruit people. Membership is now 145. She reported that she has had some health problems this year and the committee has been supportive.

4 Consideration of Annual Accounts for 2020 and 2021 (circulated with this notice):

The Annual Accounts for 2020 and 2021 have been examined by an independent examiner – Ed Moore. The AGM unanimously agreed to approve both sets of accounts

5 Determination of the annual subscription for 2022/23

It was proposed that the annual subscription for 2022/23 remained at £10. This was passed unanimously.

6 Close of nominations for election of Executive Committee

(a) Chair: 2 nominations were received: Clare Delderfield, Martin Eggleston A postal ballot of all members will be held for this position.

For the remaining officer positions only one nomination was received for each position. The AGM was asked to give a vote of approval to each candidate.

- (b) Vice Chair: Daniel Duggan. Unanimously agreed
- (c) Treasurer: Kay Kirkham. Unanimously agreed
- (d) Secretary: Sue Vincent. Unanimously agreed.
- (e) Membership Secretary: Sam Weatherlake. Unanimously agreed
- (f) Four Ordinary Members:

David John Barnsdale Sharon Julia Hartley Vera Head Alison Jenner Jenny Wilkinson

Five valid nominations were received but Vera Head withdrew her nomination so the other four candidates listed above were unanimously agreed.

The meeting was reminded that three more members of the Executive Committee can be co—opted by the new committee when it's term of office has started.

7 Nomination & approval of Honorary Co-Presidents:

- (a) Dr Julian Huppert
- (b) Baroness Lorely Burt
- (c) Christine Jardine MP

All the nominated people were willing to be elected but had to give apologies for this meeting. They were unanimously approved.

9 Honorary Co-Presidents' comments (if any):

See above.

10 Appointment of examiner of the accounts for 2022:

Ed Moore was unanimously reappointed to examine the accounts for 2022.

11 Guest Speaker: Robert Cann, Humanists UK, speaking on the topic of 'Illegal Schools'.

Robert Cann gave an interesting and informative speech about what illegal schools are and Humanists UK's campaigning in connection with them. Members of the meeting asked questions and made contributions.

Notes:

Item 4 - Consideration of Annual Accounts for 2020 and 2021

The 2020 accounts were submitted in draft form to the 2021 AGM, but had not been finalised or signed off by the examiner. They have now been revised, and signed off by the examiner (Ed Moore), and are therefore being resubmitted to this AGM.

The 2021 accounts have not yet been signed off by the examiner. If they are revised as a result of the examination, they will be resubmitted to the following AGM.

Item 5 - Annual Subscription

The retiring committee recommends that the annual subscription remain at £10.

Item 7 - Election of Committee:

For non-contested posts, election is by a simple majority of members present and voting at the AGM.

For contested posts, a postal ballot of all members will take place within six weeks after the AGM.

The new committee's members will take office seven days after the AGM (for uncontested positions) and immediately after the declaration of the result (for contested positions).

Item 8 - Nomination & approval of Hon. Co-Presidents

Hon. Presidents or Co-Presidents are nominated by the retiring committee and approved by a two-thirds majority of members present and voting at the AGM.